2022 APCCMPD Awards
Call for Submissions

Emerging Educator Award



The APCCMPD Emerging Educator Award (EEA) honors an individual who is an up-and-coming medical educator who demonstrates excellence in values towards education and teaching abilities. This individual excels in delivering and promoting medical education through various means at the local and regional levels.

Eligibility and Award Criteria

A recipient of the national award will be:

  • a pulmonary, critical care or sleep clinician, at the level of Instructor or Assistant Professor (or equivalent), within 5-years of fellowship, who spends a majority of their time serving as a clinician-educator.
  • a clinician-educator whose major portion of time is spent in fellow-level education.
  • recognized by Fellows-in-Training and by their peers as having made substantial contributions to the field of medical education through various means at the local and regional levels. Nominations must reflect excellence in this area above all else.
  • a Program Director, Associate Program Director, or faculty within an APCCMPD member fellowship program.

A recipient may not be:

  • a current member of the APCCMPD Board of Directors (BOD) or within 4-years of serving as the Immediate Past President. Individuals who serve as Secretary-Treasurer are eligible to apply after 1-year of serving as the Secretary-Treasurer.

Nomination Process

Nominees for the EEA may be self-nominated or nominated by a peer. Individuals who wish to nominate an emerging educator should first obtain the approval of the prospective nominee. 

The EEA Nomination Form will require the following for completion:

  • A brief description of the nominee’s impact as a clinician-educator in pulmonary, critical care, and/or pulmonary/critical care fellowship training.
  • The names and email addresses of two individuals that have agreed to provide a Letter of Support for the nominee.
  • Two (2) Letters of Support that should describe how the nominee has demonstrated excellence as an educator of Fellows-in-Training within pulmonary, critical care, and/or pulmonary/critical care fellowship training. This should align with the EEA Purpose and Eligibility and Review Criteria. One letter of support can be submitted by the nominator, if not self-nominating.
  • The nominee’s up-to-date CV.
  • A .jpg-format color photograph of the nominee (head and shoulders). Headshots will be used in the APCCMPD 2022 Annual Conference Awards Program. Submitted headshots will not be shared with the Awards Selection Committee (ASC).
  • Confirmation that, if selected, awardee will attend the upcoming APCCMPD 2022 Annual Conference to be held March 9-11 in Miami Beach, FL.

Selection Process

  • The Awards Selection Committee (ASC) will review all nominees. The committee will develop a ranked slate of the top qualifiers, based on the eligibility criteria. The ASC Chair will present the ranked slate of the top qualifiers to the APCCMPD BOD for voting.
  • Nominees not awarded the EEA will be reconsidered for a subsequent three years. Nominees will be given the opportunity to update their nomination packet annually.
  • In years when no EEA candidates are nominated, the APCCMPD BOD reserves the right to award an individual whom they determine meets the Eligibility and Review Criteria, without submission of two Letters of Support.

Awardee Recognition

The APCCMPD will present the EEA recipient with a plaque at the 2022 APCCMPD Annual Conference. The APCCMPD will also recognize the awardee (and all nominees) in its quarterly newsletter, on the APCCMPD website, and in the APCCMPD 2022 Annual Conference Awards Program.

Submit an Online Application

Submission Information

Deadline for Submission:

December 1, 2021

To be considered:

All applications must be submitted online

Once begun:

You will NOT have the ability to save your application and complete it later


Joyce Reitzner, MBA, MIPH
[email protected]