Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education 

The ACGME is a non-profit organization that accredits U.S. based residency and fellowship programs. The ACGME delegates authority for accreditation of programs to Residency Review Committees (RRCs) convened to oversee each of the 26 specialities. The Internal Medicine RRC oversees Pulmonary, Critical Care and PCCM fellowship programs.

All fellowship programs must follow a set of common program requirements, which are identical for all specialties. Core program requirements establish standards for institutional support of the program. The RRC overseeing a specialty adds speciality specific program requirements, which are revised on a regular bases as dictated by changes in the speciality.  

Useful Links to the ACGME Website

ACGME Program Requirements

Pulmonary Critical Care


Critical Care


Pulmonary Critical Care


Critical Care


NAS in a Nutshell

Specialty Specific Webinar

Milestones for Internal Medicine Subspecialties

Other Milestone Resources

Clinical Competency Committee

Clinical Competency Committee Guidebook



CLER Pathways to Excellence Document

Overview of CLER Program

CLER Site Visit Instructions

Self Study

A Practical Guide to Self Study

A Sample Self Study Timeline

Self Study Summary Template (DOC)

Single Accreditation System

Useful ACGME Webinars