2022 APCCMPD Awards
Call for Submissions

Outstanding Educator Award



Members of the Association of Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine Program Directors (APCCMPD) work diligently to foster excellence through training and mentoring of the next generation of pulmonary and critical care physicians. One way to honor peers who demonstrate excellence in the development of future physicians is through the annual Outstanding Educator Award (OEA).

This award recognizes an individual who has devoted a major portion of their professional life to enhancing the practice and profession of pulmonary, critical care, and pulmonary/critical care medicine through education. The educator selected for this award has made significant, innovative, and cumulatively outstanding contributions to education. These contributions should include excellence in education beyond the local level, with widespread recognition of the recipient's excellence, which may include teaching, directing, mentoring, writing and speaking abilities, ideally to multiple levels of audiences including medical students, residents and fellowships.

The OEA recognizes individuals who are exemplary clinician-educators who have made substantial national contributions at the medical student, resident and fellowship level. National impact can include mentoring that has led to the successful career development as medical educators, or scholarly publications.

Eligibility and Award Criteria

A recipient of the national award will be:

  • a pulmonary, critical care or sleep clinician who spends most of their time serving as a clinician-educator.
  • a clinician-educator whose major portion of time is spent in fellow-level education.
  • recognized by Fellows-in-Training as an outstanding educator and by their peers as having made substantial contributions to the field of fellowship education. Nominations must reflect excellence in this area above all else.
  • a current or former Program Director or Associate Program Director within an APCCMPD member fellowship program.
  • an Associate Professor or above (or equivalent).
  • Contributions and engagement with the APCCMPD are not required but will be viewed favorably.

A recipient may not be:

  • a current member of the APCCMPD Board of Directors (BOD) or within 4-years of serving as the Immediate Past President. Individuals who serve as Secretary-Treasurer are eligible to apply after 1-year of serving as the Secretary-Treasurer.  

Nomination Process

Nominees for the OEA may be self-nominated or nominated by a peer. Individuals who wish to nominate an outstanding educator should first obtain the approval of the prospective nominee.

The OEA Nomination Form will require the following for completion:

  • A brief description of the nominee’s impact as a clinician-educator in pulmonary, critical care, and/or pulmonary/critical care fellowship training.
  • The names and email addresses of two individuals that have agreed to provide a Letter of Support for the nominee.
  • Two (2) Letters of Support that should describe how the nominee has demonstrated excellence as an educator of Fellows-in-Training within pulmonary, critical care, and/or pulmonary/critical care fellowship training. This should align with the OEA Purpose and Eligibility and Review Criteria.
  • The nominee’s up-to-date CV.
  • A .jpg-format color photograph of the nominee (head and shoulders)Headshots will be used in the APCCMPD 2022 Annual Conference Awards Program. Submitted headshots will not be shared with the Awards Selection Committee (ASC). 
  • Confirmation that, if selected, awardee will attend the upcoming APCCMPD 2022 Annual Conference to be held March 9-11 in Miami Beach, FL

Selection Process

  • The Awards Selection Committee (ASC) will review all nominees. The committee will develop a ranked slate of the top qualifiers, based on the eligibility criteria. The ASC Chair will present the ranked slate of the top qualifiers to the APCCMPD BOD for voting.
  • Nominees not awarded the OEA will be reconsidered for a subsequent three years. Nominees will be given the opportunity to update their nomination packet annually.
  • In years when no OEA candidates are nominated, the APCCMPD BOD reserves the right to award an individual whom they determine meets the Eligibility and Review Criteria, without submission of two Letters of Support.

Awardee Recognition

The APCCMPD will present the OEA recipient with a plaque at the 2022 APCCMPD Annual Conference where the awardee will be given the opportunity to present their favorite medical education lecture. The APCCMPD will also recognize the awardee (and all nominees) in its quarterly newsletter, on the APCCMPD website, and in the APCCMPD 2022 Annual Conference Awards Program

Submit an Online Application

Submission Information

Deadline for Submission:

December 1, 2021

To be considered:

All applications must be submitted online

Once begun:

You will NOT have the ability to save your application and complete it later


Joyce Reitzner, MBA, MIPH
[email protected]